ACCORDING TO FACEBOOK SEXISM, HOMOPHOBIA, EXPLICIT SEXUAL IMAGES & GRATUITOUS VIOLENCE ARE FINE. LIBERAL FREEDOM OF SPEECH IS NOT.

So my Facebook account was suspended this morning because of a reply I gave to a nasty lunatic who wrote on MY comment on a news article about the gun-nut lobby in Australia. I am not going to lie, I am VERY anti-gun. In my opinion guns are serious apparatuses that only people who really NEED them (police, security personnel, farmers, hunters etc.) should have and those people need to be fully trained, tested and show evidence of the secure, locked storage where they plan on keeping their guns. Saying you want a gun “cos you like the way it makes you feel”, or you want a gun “for protection” is not a valid reason and as seen in the U.S. only leads to massive amounts of gun related accidents, violence and fatalities (Note: The CDC in the U.S. who track data on many things including car accidents, natural disasters, drownings as well as diseases have been banned from collecting data on the correlation between legal gun ownership and gun violence due to the corrupt, bs NRA and other gun-nut lobbyists). For people who may be actual collectors of guns (not that I know why you would want to collect guns unless they were antiques but then again I feel that way about a lot of things i.e. stamps, coins etc.) then ammunition distribution needs to be carefully monitored. Guns are not toys to be messing around with and not every moron with a heartbeat should have one just because they feel it is their deluded right.

So this news article was about this idiot, conservative woman who would like to see more people in Australia get into guns in a recreational kind of way. Not going to happen, sweetheart, so you can just keep on wishing. I love how these dickheads never tie the fact we have not had one (public) gun massacre since 1996, Port Arthur, (there was a domestic violence incident in 2014 that was committed with a legal gun by a ‘normal’ father who passed all the required checks) to the fact we had good gun control put in place after Port Arthur even though prior to 1996 we had 16 mass shootings in 25 years. Australian gun related accidents, violence, homicides and suicides have all gone down dramatically too since the former PM, John Howard, put stricter gun control in place in 1996. 

In the article this moron woman also said she “felt empowered’ when she fired a gun!!! DING, DING, DING, DING!!!! And right there is a major red flag!!! Listen up! Guns are not meant to be used to stroke your fragile ego or give your shallow life some meaning. If you want to feel empowered start doing some charity work and helping the less fortunate. One thing I cannot stand is when people speak lustfully about guns or glamorise guns. It’s sick and it leads to trouble. A gun is supposed to be a tool for work. If an animal breaks its leg or you run into/over an animal and it doesn’t die it is your ethical responsibility to put that animal out of pain. If you have a pest problem in your area and the native flora or fauna are suffering it is your ethical responsibility to cull the pests and preserve the eco-system. If you are a law enforcement member it is your responsibility to discharge your weapon, if it is safe to do so, in order to stop a fatal or heinous crime from occurring. There is nothing ‘sexy’ about guns. There is nothing alluring about a gun. It’s a tool. Either use it with the correct mind frame i.e. this is not a toy to boost my crumby self-esteem or don’t use one at all. So I commented on the news article pointing out what a nutbag this gun chick was for using a gun to ‘feel empowered’. A few gun-nuts commented pro gun rubbish on my post, as they do, because who gives a fuck that places with shitty gun laws have disgustingly high gun violence while places with strict gun laws have low gun violence??? Being able to successfully join the dots is not what these ignoramuses brains are good at.

Then this stupid, nasty, random woman wrote an extremely unbalanced reply to my comment claiming she was in a gun related siege/massacre in Melbourne, Australia and had developed a, quote, ‘irrational fear’ of guns and had to take up shooting in order to cope. WTF?!?! Ok, let me unpack this because there was so much not adding up in her comment even the best of accountants wouldn’t be able to balance her total amount of crazy. Firstly, she didn’t state which siege/massacre she was a victim of or what year it took place so who knows if it is true. Let’s just say for arguments sake she was telling the absolute truth. Secondly, she did not state she was in a job where having a gun was a necessity e.g. police force, defence force etc. so what the fuck does it matter if she had an ‘irrational fear’ of guns??? This is Australia and gun control is tight so it’s not like she would be going out onto ordinary Australian streets and see people carrying guns left, right and centre. Secondly, GOOD! Having a fear, ‘irrational’ or otherwise, of something that has the potential to murder people is not an all together bad thing. I used to be so terrified of snakes I couldn’t even look at photos of them. Still to this day the thought of snakes makes me want to yak so I always take extra care to never meet one (never keep the doors open in Summer, never walk through bush unless I can see the ground etc. I also have 3 snake removal places in my phone just in case I am ever unlucky enough to come face to face with one).

Thirdly, this woman did not state she had gone to a mental health professional who told her that she needed to go to a shooting range as a part of her therapy. She didn’t even mention anything about a psychologist or a psychiatrist which, if I was in a siege/massacre, a psychologist or a psychiatrist is the first person I would be going to unless I had to go to hospital first. Basically in this woman’s head her way of coming to terms with her life threatening situation was to go out and emulate the person who had put her in that situation?!?!?! IN WHAT WORLD DOES THAT MAKE SENSE??? She made no mention of creating a support group for survivors of gun violence. She made no mention of starting a movement to implement even stricter gun laws or start some kind of community initiative. No, her answer was get a gun and shoot it. This is not the kind of person I want having access to a gun ever!

I do not ‘fear’ guns. I am extremely aware of the capability they have to kill many people in a short amount of time and the fact the U.S. has next to no federal gun control and keeps having mass shootings every few months, not to mention their gun crime and homicide rate is through the roof for a developed nation, doesn’t make my awareness of guns ability to do a lot of damage to a large amount of people any less apparent. Most of the massacres that occur in the U.S. and the ones that did occur in Australia were committed by legal gun owners using legal guns!!! And this whole notion of add more guns to the equation and that will fix the problem makes my jaw drop!!! If I was ever unlucky enough to be in a horrendous situation where a gun was presented (I cannot touch enough wood to hope this never, ever, ever happens) and I was lucky enough to survive I can assure you the last thing I would ever be doing would be going to a shooting range and firing a gun. I would be in full community rallying motion (after I had the necessary time with a mental health professional to come to terms with my near death experience) contacting Members of Parliament to implement even tougher gun laws. You don’t throw petrol on a fire. Likewise you don’t fight gun violence with guns.

Sooo… I replied back to this nasty, lunatic and told her exactly what was flawed with her thought process. I wasn’t nice to her because her comment to me had been quite horrible. I told her that clearly all her time spent at the shooting range had done FA to help her PTSD and not to put her unresolved issues on to me. I, once again, made my stance on guns clear. They are not toys!!! They are not to be used as a way to boost someone’s ego, or make them feel ’empowered’ and they are definitely not a way to resolve issues including mental health ones etc. etc. etc. I did not incite hate or violence towards her. I did not swear at her or intimidate her. I just made my opinion clear. I got a like or two for that reply. I don’t weigh in on social issues for likes, mind you. I do so because I want to live in a safe society and I don’t want to wake up each day to hear how many people have been gunned down unnecessarily because of some people’s inability to function without having a gun.

Then, somebody who clearly doesn’t understand the way freedom of speech works, reported my reply to this nutbag!!! AND FACEBOOK AGREED WITH THEM AND SUSPENDED MY ACCOUNT!!! WTF?!?!?!? I can still log in but I can not make any posts and I am fucking filthy about it. I sent Facebook this message…

Dear Facebook,

I am actually astounded that my comment was deemed unacceptable considering the amount of trash and garbage that is allowed to be on Facebook and that does not get taken down when it is reported e.g. misogynistic posts, homophobic posts, nudity, violence etc. etc. etc.

My comment, which was reported by someone who does not understand the principles of free speech and which apparently offended the delicate sensibilities of Facebook, was on the VERY important topic of gun control and gun laws. The person I was replying to left an abhorrently unstable comment on my post and I replied back to them in the same tone and demeanour that they wrote to me.

What I want to know is did their comment get removed too? Is Facebook governed by rules that state some people can dish out disgraceful messages but if others reply their comments are deleted and their accounts are hindered??? What a joke! Do we live in a society of free speech or don’t we??? I did not threaten this person. I did not incite others to violence or hate against this person. I did not use profane language. I simply pointed out how insane their train of thought was. How is it I can see so many disgusting things on Facebook that scrap the bottom of the barrel and yet a debate on gun control where one party makes a vicious comment towards someone and then when the person defends themself their comment is deleted and their account is blocked??? I have never heard of anything so outrageous in all my life.

Now that I am aware that gratuitous and vile content is fine by Facebook’s (low) standards but one person standing up for themselves against a deranged lunatic is not ok with Facebook I will not be thinking of this platform in the favourable light I once did. I will be finding out how to get copies of my photos off my account because I can see with the skewed ethical compass that Facebook has my right to freedom of speech will no doubt be reported again by some other Kim Jong-un.”

With all the shit on Facebook that never gets taken down even after it is reported they think my freedom of speech on gun control is so offensive, so unacceptable, so untoward they had to delete it and fuck with my ability to make posts. Once my account is put back to its rightful state I shall be contacting Facebook again and asking how I can lodge a formal complaint against them. I will also be reporting that loonbag’s comment just to see if it will be removed too (we all know it won’t be, hypocritical, double standards). Censoring free speech is inexcusable and the only way to combat things you don’t like is with more free speech e.g. I think Holocaust deniers are vile beyond belief but I would never censor them because once you do that you start on a slippery road to impeding on free speech. I fight Holocaust deniers and any other idiots with my right of free speech which is how it should be. It’s such a cheap, shallow, tacky move to censor someone. It reeks of insecurity and feebleness of mine. Having said that, if hate or violence is being incited, threats are being made, another person’s personal details are being given out without their permission or intimate details are being circulated than, yes, that should not be tolerated because freedom of speech is about voicing your ideas and opinions NOT bullying, harassing or endangering another person’s life.

So that is my huge rant for the night. Facebook can go fuck itself. I am so unimpressed and tomorrow I will be making my displeasure further known to them.

What happens when your government restricts you from being able to collect data on the correlation between legal gun owners and gun violence and refuses to put federal gun control in place? You get the U.S.A.

Obama’s speech after the latest mass shooting.

After a 1996 Mass Shooting, Australia Enacted Strict Gun Laws. It Hasn’t Had a Similar Massacre Since.

http://www.slate.com/blogs/crime/2012/12/16/gun_control_after_connecticut_shooting_could_australia_s_laws_provide_a.html

Did gun control work in Australia?

http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/wonkblog/wp/2012/08/02/did-gun-control-work-in-australia/

Decline in gun deaths doubled since Australia destroyed 700,000 firearms

http://sydney.edu.au/news/84.html?newsstoryid=1502

Leave a Reply

